IELTS Eligibility Criteria

Inherently, there are no minimum IELTS Eligibility criteria, fixed by the conducting bodies, IDP and British Council for the IELTS Exam. The IELTS is an English proficiency test given by candidates who wish to study or work in an English speaking country. The medium of instruction in a majority of the colleges, universities and educational institutions in most of the English speaking countries is English. So it is necessary for the candidates to have a basic grasp of the language in order to pursue their higher studies successfully. According to the IELTS Exam Pattern, the candidates are assessed on the basis of four parameters – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. 

Also Check:  How to Register for the IELTS?

What are the different formats of the IELTS Exam?

The IELTS Exam is conducted in two formats IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training Test. The IELTS Academic is taken by those who wish to pursue higher education in a foreign country and the IELTS General Training Test is taken by those who want to go to major English-speaking countries for pursuing secondary education or to gain work experience. Apart from this, candidates who wish to migrate to major economies of the world like the UK, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia also take this exam. Moreover, a majority of the renowned educational institutes across the world require an IELTS total score of 7.0 band with section scores of 6.5 band for admissions.

Also Read:

What is the minimum IELTS Score needed for admissions into the Top Universities?

Every university has an independent set of requirements and guidelines to be fulfilled for admissions. The IELTS Eligibility Criteria requirements vary from one university to the other. Apart from this, candidates will also have to fulfill the other eligibility requirements as set by the university.

Also Check Average IELTS Score in the Best Universities in US

What is the minimum age for giving IELTS Exam?

The minimum age for giving the IELTS exam is 16 years. Anyone above the age of 16 can give the IELTS Test irrespective of nationality or background. Exceptions can be made in the case of a school that requires IELTS Scores for admission. There is no age limit or eligibility criteria set by the ETS, the body that conducts this exam, but it is recommended that the candidate should have crossed the age of 16 years. 

Also Check Study Abroad without IELTS

IELTS Test Pattern

IELTS Syllabus consists of different sections, Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The entire test is for a period of 2 hours and 45 minutes.

  • Listening: This section is of 30 minutes and candidates have to answer a total of 40 questions of different types
  • Reading: This section is of 30 minutes and it comprises of about 40 questions
  • Writing: This section is of 60 minutes and contains two questions for which the answer must be written as a short essay of at least 250 words. Apart from this, candidates are given a table, diagram or data which they have to describe in their own words
  • Speaking: The overall length of this section varies from 11 to 14 minutes and candidates have to face an interview in person. The speaking ability of the candidate is accessed by the examiner in this section.

Also Read:

Leave A Reply